Local Council Elections - 2nd May, 2019

Published: 09 May 2019

The term of office for the current Parish Council is coming to an end and a new Parish Council will be formed from the 4th day after the election to serve for the next 4 years. There are 11 seats on the Council and 4 local people have been nominated to fill the seats. As the election is uncontested, no formal ballot is needed. Currently your new Parish Councillors will be:
  • Rita Atkinson - Chapel Lane
  • Teresa Field - Drayton Road
  • Michael Jenkins - Churchmere Road
  • Jennifer Corrigan - Appleford Road
The following existing Parish Councillors: David Butler, Christopher Campbell, Karl Gebhart, David Hignell, Martin Howell, and Claire Myerson have decided not to stand as candidates for election, and they will therefore be standing down from the Council. The Council wishes to express its thanks to them all for their efforts on the Council and on behalf of the community over the last 4 years.

Vacancies on the Parish Council
As only 4 parishioners were nominated for 11 seats, there are 7 seats on the Council which remain to be filled. The Parish Council can proceed to co-opt others within a statutory timescale. The Parish Council maintains the cemetery, recreation ground, and village green, and is currently busy with the Didcot Garden Town and its transport suggestions, the Oxford Cambridge Expressway and supports the Steering Group undertaking a Neighbourhood Plan. It has a statutory right to be consulted on all planning applications in its area and its views are taken into account when the planning decision is made. It is often consulted on other local matters as well, having a representative on local committees such as WRG and RWEnPower at the Power Station. The Parish Council plays a vital part in representing the interests of the community which it serves and is an effective lobby group influencing the other decision makers. If anyone is interested in joining the Parish Council to help work towards improving community well-being, then please contact the Clerk, whose contact details appear below, or can be found on the Council’s website, as soon as possible.
Cllr. Gervase Duffield – Vale of White Horse District Council
The members of the Parish Council would place on record their thanks to Cllr. Gervase Duffield who has decided not to stand for re-election as the parish’s representative on the Vale of White Horse District Council. Gervase has regularly attended meetings of the Parish Council in his term of office, and has helpfully guided the Parish Council in matters relating to the District Council. He has been committed to working for the benefit of Sutton Courtenay and has been a great support to all.