Sutton Courtenay Parish Council | Abingdon | Oxfordshire | UK
Sutton Courtenay Parish Council

Parish News


Neighbourhood Plan Meeting 25th November, 2015 at 7.00 p.m. This meeting will take place in the village hall. Please attend and gives your views on whether a Neighbourhood Plan should be undertaken or not.

War Memorial

The work to clean and restore the war memorial is now complete and in time for Remembrance Sunday. It is made of Bath stone which is quite soft, so there is a limited number of times that lettering can be recut into the stone. Best conservation practice was followed throughout, so the work undertaken has been to conserve the memorial, and done under the guidance of the War Memorial Trust. Therefore minimal work has been carried out to ensure that the memory of the individuals recorded are remembered and to ensure that the memorial is safely conserved for future generations. A full photographic record was kept of the work undertaken. Thanks are given again to those who donated to help this project reach fruition.

Church Street/Brook Street ‐ traffic and cyclists

Further to the article which appeared last month, the Council can confirm that all possible measures to deal with traffic, advisory signs and the safety of cyclists crossing Cross Trees triangle have been fully explored. The County Council has very limited funding and is providing replacement signs and new signs where it is considered necessary, and where there is compliance with Traffic Sign Regulations. Changes to the traffic priority have been considered at Cross Trees triangle. The B4016 is the main road with High Street joining it. Whilst residents may disagree, in the opinion of the County's engineer, nothing could be done to change priorities as this would affect the main B road, and it was the B4016 that is the classified road. There is no acceptable way of change as far as the County Council is concerned.

Hedge Cutting

The Parish Council has received comments from residents concerned about overhanging hedges which are causing problems for pedestrians and even cyclists in the area. Could landowners and those with responsibility for maintenance please ensure that the public areas on paths and cycle tracks are kept clear.

New Housing

As there are numerous new houses under construction and new planning applications for housing pending, the Parish Council has thought about producing a welcome leaflet for the new residents that are likely to move into the parish. Ideas and suggestions are invited as to what should be included. Please let your local parish councilor or the clerk have your thoughts as to content and design.

School Admissions ‐ Entry to primary or infant school September 2016

If you are a parent or carer of a child 3 or 4 years old then you need to apply for a primary school place now. This is for children born between 1st September 2011 and 31st August 2012. You still have to apply even if your child already attends a nursery attached to the school. For further information and to apply online go to The closing date for applications is 15th January, 2016. If you do not have internet access, then you can access the internet at many of the County Council's libraries, or telephone 01865 815175 for further information.

Presentations at Parish Council meetings

The Parochial Church Council will give a presentation to the Parish Council about the proposed extension to All Saints Church, at the next meeting on 3rd November commencing at 7.00 p.m. The Damascus Youth Project will give a presentation to Council about its work, at the Council's budget meeting, on a date to be agreed. Please see noticeboard for further information.

Parish Council Budget Meeting ‐ Grants Reminder

The Parish Council will be considering around the end of the month, its budget for the 2016/17 financial year. The Council can award grants where there benefit to some or all of the inhabitants, and where the benefit is commensurate with the expenditure. If there is any organisation where there is benefit for Sutton Courtenay residents, and which wishes to be considered for a grant, then please write to the clerk, setting out the purpose of the grant and supplying a copy of your organisation's accounts, by 21st November, 2015.


Please be considerate for neighbours and the many pets and animals in the village when letting off your fireworks. Please notify others when any fireworks are going to be lit so that villagers are aware and arrangements can be made to keep pets indoors.

Planning Applications

The following planning applications have been considered :

Date of Next Meeting: Tuesday 3rd November, 2015 at 7.00 pm. in the village hall, Frilsham Street. Prior to the commencement of formal business, the Parochial Church Council will present its plans for an extension to All Saints Church. Please check noticeboard outside Burgrey stores in case arrangements change. Clerk: Mrs. L. Martin 90 Howard Cornish Road, Marcham Tel: 01865 391833 or